The Home of South African Soccer

A Brief History

The South Africa national team or Bafana Bafana (a Zulu term of endearment which means the boys, the boys) is the national team of South Africa. 

The team has played at seven Africa Cup of Nations tournaments, winning once. The team has also played at three FIFA World Cups including, 1998 in France and 2002 in South Korea and Japan. 

South Africa became the first African nation to host the FIFA World Cup when it hosted the 19th FIFA World Cup in June 2010. 

 The team’s highest achievement was winning the Africa Cup of Nations at home in 1996.

Latest Results

South Africa Flag


African Cup Qualification Match

Sudan Flag
Ghana Flag


African Cup Qualification Match

South Africa Flag
South Africa Flag



Mali Flag


Africa Cup of Nations

Winner (1): 1996
Runner-up (1): 1998
Third Place (1): 2000

FIFA Confederations Cup

Fourth Place (1): 2009

FIFA Best Mover of the Year

Winner (1): 1996


Winner (4): 2002, 2007, 2008, 2016
Third Place (4): 2000, 2005, 2009, 2013

Soccer City Stadium

The design of the stadium is based on the calabash or African pot, this being the most recognisable object to represent the African continent. Otherwise known as the melting pot of cultures, the design is being constructed on a raised podium, referred to as the pit of fire.

Stepping Into Retirement with an Equity Release Plan

You’re a soccer or ‘football’ fan and have been looking forward to visiting the beautiful and new domed Soccer City Stadium in South Africa. Well, by using the home equity release calculator
you can get to make your dreams come true and enjoy a few games at the enormous elliptical stadium thanks to your equity release, but make sure you know which equity release companies to avoid.
You might even catch up with some of the famous and talented Bafana-Bafana players.

Why Your Compact Vacuum Cleaner Could Be the Solution to Your Pet Allergies

The soccer season is here, and you can’t wait to go for the live match in Soccer City Stadium. There’s one problem though: your cousin won’t take ‘Bishu’ in. So, you have to travel with her but are concerned about the dirt she’ll track in your hotel. Well, with the best vacuum cleaners for pet hair, you can easily combat these issues. You’re even lucky there are compact models today to make your work easier!

Saving Up on Car Insurance for Your Next Road Trip to Cape Town

It’s been a while since you took a break from work, and with the holidays coming up, you can’t wait to visit Cape Town and walk up Lion’ Head. The only thing that’s going to stop you is your car insurance – it just expired. Well, by checking out cheap car insurance quotes online, you can get an affordable insurance cover and save enough to cater to your road trip bills!

How to Get the Perfect Pair of Work Shoes

Your friend just invited you to attend a soccer match in South Africa, and you can’t wait to show off some of your ‘Ronaldo’ moves. Well, with the weather being undecided, you’ve been advised to pack a pair of the best work boots. Since you have none, you can quickly dash to the store and ask the attendant to help you get the most comfortable work boots for a rainy-sunny kind of season!

Tips to Make Buying a Travel System a Walk in the Park

Your husband just signed a deal with the best football teams in the world. Like the dedicated WAG you are, you have to ensure that you attend his first game. Since your nanny won’t be available, you have to pack the babies travel systems and make your way to the City Stadium to cheer on the love of your life. If you don’t have one, be sure to check some reviews and get your baby the best travel system!

Don't Miss our Most Recent Posts:

Scroll to Top